ID: Pass:  
 

eNom Phishing Email - Beware!

Today I received a phishing email masquerading as eNom. While the from address is support@enom.com, the return address is actually axri@bobjanes.com.

The domain name that the phishing email diverts to is com62.biz - I have provided the whois details below.

——————————————————

From: “eNomCentral Support” <support@enom.com>

Subject: Inaccurate whois information.

Dear user,

On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 00:13:32 +0300 we received a third party complaint of  invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain  Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid  or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.

The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 00:13:32 +0300 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.

PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com.com62.biz

If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:

Attn: Domain Services
14455 N Hayden Rd
Suite 219
Scottsdale, AZ 85260

LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com.com62.biz

Thank you,
Domain Services

[IncidentID:33499]

——————————————————

Domain Name      COM62.BIZ
Domain ID     D27867299-BIZ
Sponsoring Registrar     ONLINENIC, INC. D/B/A CHINA-CHANNEL.COM
Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID     82
Domain Status     clientTransferProhibited
Registrant ID     OLNI_175212_0_1
Registrant Name     Shestakov Yuriy
Registrant Organization     Shestakov Yuriy
Registrant Address1     Lenina 21 16
Registrant City     Mirniy
Registrant State/Province     MSK
Registrant Postal Code     102422
Registrant Country     Russian Federation
Registrant Country Code     RU
Registrant Phone Number     +7.9218839910
Registrant Facsimile Number     +7.9218839910
Registrant Email     alexeyvas@safe-mail.net
Administrative Contact ID     OLNI_175212_1_1
Administrative Contact Name     Shestakov Yuriy
Administrative Contact Organization     Shestakov Yuriy
Administrative Contact Address1     Lenina 21 16
Administrative Contact City     Mirniy
Administrative Contact State/Province     MSK
Administrative Contact Postal Code     102422
Administrative Contact Country     Russian Federation
Administrative Contact Country Code     RU
Administrative Contact Phone Number     +7.9218839910
Administrative Contact Facsimile Number     +7.9218839910
Administrative Contact Email     alexeyvas@safe-mail.net
Billing Contact ID     OLNI_175212_3_1
Billing Contact Name     Shestakov Yuriy
Billing Contact Organization     Shestakov Yuriy
Billing Contact Address1     Lenina 21 16
Billing Contact City     Mirniy
Billing Contact State/Province     MSK
Billing Contact Postal Code     102422
Billing Contact Country     Russian Federation
Billing Contact Country Code     RU
Billing Contact Phone Number     +7.9218839910
Billing Contact Facsimile Number     +7.9218839910
Billing Contact Email     alexeyvas@safe-mail.net
Technical Contact ID     OLNI_175212_2_1
Technical Contact Name     Shestakov Yuriy
Technical Contact Organization     Shestakov Yuriy
Technical Contact Address1     Lenina 21 16
Technical Contact City     Mirniy
Technical Contact State/Province     MSK
Technical Contact Postal Code     102422
Technical Contact Country     Russian Federation
Technical Contact Country Code     RU
Technical Contact Phone Number     +7.9218839910
Technical Contact Facsimile Number     +7.9218839910
Technical Contact Email     alexeyvas@safe-mail.net
Name Server     NS1.XWHLWWW.COM
Name Server     NS2.XWHLWWW.COM
Name Server     NS3.XWHLWWW.COM
Name Server     NS4.XWHLWWW.COM
Name Server     NS5.XWHLWWW.COM
Created by Registrar     ONLINENIC, INC. D/B/A CHINA-CHANNEL.COM
Last Updated by Registrar     ONLINENIC, INC. D/B/A CHINA-CHANNEL.COM
Domain Registration Date     Mon Oct 27 00:45:13 GMT 2008
Domain Expiration Date     Mon Oct 26 23:59:59 GMT 2009
Domain Last Updated Date     Mon Oct 27 06:04:52 GMT 2008

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • digg.com
  • Technorati
  • del.icio.us
  • Reddit
  • TwitThis
  • StumbleUpon
  • Propeller
  • Furl
  • Sphinn
  • Slashdot
  • NewsVine
  • Fark
  • Mixx
  • connotea
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • BarraPunto
  • blinkbits
  • BlinkList
  • blogmarks
  • Blogosphere News
  • blogtercimlap
  • Blue Dot

Tags: , , ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, October 29th, 2008 at 5:09 am and is filed under domain name security, phishing. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

5 Responses to “eNom Phishing Email - Beware!”

  1. Enom Phishing Attempt « PhilSpace Says:

    [...] Domainer Income Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Whois Expireback from the deadHost Monster Domain ReviewsHow Telnic Will Revolutionize Dialing [...]

  2. enom | Roam U Article Says:

    [...] email that is designed to have people divulge their …Jim Plumb - http://jimplumb.com/wp/|||eNom Phishing Email - Beware!Today I received a phishing email masquerading as eNom. While the from address is support@enom.com, [...]

  3. Mabon Dane Says:

    I got the same sort of e-mail. It got me worried and gald I found your article.

  4. Simon Says:

    Thanks Mabon - good to know you are safe!

  5. Warren tranter Says:

    just received the above email, thanks for the heads up, got me a little worried at first!

Leave a Reply

Affiliate Program | Terms & Conditions | Privacy