Beta

GM Holden Wins Domains

July 26, No Comments

What makes this interesting is that its not just some dodgy cybersquatter who is registering domains, its a car servicing company! They decided to register holdenplatinumservice.com.au, holdenservice.net.au and servicingholden.com.au. You can guess what happens next ;-)

Holden claims the domains are misleading and deceptive and WIPO finds that all the domains were:

1. Registered in bad faith.

2. Confusingly similar to GM Holden’s trademarks.

and the list goes on…. This is a lesson for Domainers and SEO companies who think they can “own an industry”. Here is one particular quote I like:

the multiple registrations of domain names, not only including the Complainant’s trade mark but those of many other motor car manufacturers, strongly leads to a conclusion that the Respondent is seeking to divert the business of Internet users away from the authorised service centres of the Complainant and other manufacturers.

Good decision WIPO.

Related Posts:

  1. WIPO Adds Aussie Lawyer to UDRP Panel
  2. WIPO Takes Down Fake Arsenal Site
  3. Howard Neu – UDRP & WIPO Unveiled – Live from Traffic DownUnder 2008
  4. Travelocity Goes After Typo Domains – Wins Arbitration
  5. WIPO To Go Paperless For UDRP – Saves HOW MUCH Paper?

Previous | Next Post:


|

Add Your Comment

Add to Twitter Add us to your Facebook