Scam .MOBI Ads On iPad – There’s An App For That!
August 5, No Comments - Author: Simon JohnsonLast night I was playing air hockey on my iPad (expert level of course)
After the game finished the app displayed an advertisement for another game. Beside that advertisement was another one for a .MOBI !
I couldn’t believe my eyes – a .MOBI domain used in an advertisement on a mobile device – who would have thought?
I had to see who was behind it, and against my better judgement I clicked…. Yes I know the advertisement looks dodgy and the use of VISA in the domain name will no doubt land the domain owner in a UDRP case.
Anyway, it turns out the site diverts to usagc.org – a “Green Card Lottery” website which asks you for all your personal information. I’m going to stop short of screaming out “SCAM” at the top my lungs. A quick search uncovers Yahoo Answers, 419 forum (for scams) and many others talking about the site.
For those people reading this post who want to get a Diversity Visa (DV) and go through the lottery process, the REAL site to visit is the US Department of State at http://travel.state.gov/visa/immigrants/types/types_1318.html
Good luck!
Previous | Next Post:
« How To Turn On Geographical Targeting For .CO [Video] | Demand Media Files For IPO – Isn’t Profitable… Yet »



Facebook comments: