Beta

Halvarez Registrant Of Parked Domains – Who’s Getting The Ad Revenue?

November 10, 8 Comments - Author:

Given Snapnames opened up their auction history, I decided to login and take a look at some auctions where I’d encountered Halverez – there were quite a few. It was like a trip down memory lane…. I remember back in 2005 when I bid on …. :-)

While plowing through the results, a few things came to mind when I reviewed this auction below:

Question #1

Should people be compensated by Snapnames when they lose the auction to Halverez? In other words, Halverez ends up with the domain name they were bidding on?

Snapnames has stated they ” will offer a rebate, with 5.22% interest” but that’s only to those whose bids were inflated by the fake auction bids.

Question #2

What is Snapnames going to do about domain names that are currently registered to Halverez? The current whois record for this name that I lost at auction, has known contact details for Halverez. The creation date matches up perfectly to the auction date.

Question #3

Who is receiving the revenue from domain names that Halverez “won” at auction? For example, the domain name I lost to Halverez above is currently parked:

Who has been making money from this domain? How many other domains are there like this? In terms of compensation, how do you put a price on lost opportunity cost, revenue from parking/development and revenue from domain sales?

This is starting to take shape now that there appears to be a Class Action Lawsuit filed.

Tell us what you think! Have you have lost to Halverez? What happened?

Previous | Next Post:


« | »

Comments

Facebook comments:

Comment by Michael - November 10, 2009 @ 05:54 AM

I think in the case of ranked-online-casinos.com, you should pay Halvarez for preventing you from buying it :) All joking aside, that’s a good question. I doubt they can force him to give it back, especially if he moved it to another registrar. Also, many have been sold and can’t really be recovered. There’s obviously no way for them to compensate you for the missed revenue because you lost, they don’t know the revenue it could have earned, or what you would have done with it. You could argue that you were going to build a huge business on the domain and that they owe you millions, but in reality there’s no way to know what *could* have been. You’d have to sue and let the judge decide.

Comment by admin - November 10, 2009 @ 06:26 AM

You are right – I could have used a better example. :-)

Comment by danny - November 10, 2009 @ 07:12 AM

One of three parking companies could answer that, Halvarez has two different addresses that both use the registrant email doma...@gmail.com with more names that use Moniker privacy. I suspect click fraud may be part of his plan.

Comment by J.T. - November 11, 2009 @ 06:26 PM

To be honest with you, when I saw that Halvarez was the only person bidding for a name against me, I felt relieved because I knew the bidding wouldn’ t go too high.

But, in hind site, I could have gotten these names for a much cheaper price.

Comment by Curtis J Neeley Jr., MFA - November 19, 2009 @ 08:13 PM

The domain “industry” is a complete FRAUD! I have just sued Network Solutions Inc, NameMedia Inc, and Google Inc for violating my copyrights and trademarks, and the advertising of a domains expiration date will no longer be able to be advertised by anyone except the owner. If you own Gogle stock or a domain with no use to sell a product or service you best sell it because the “industry” is about to be revealed as the FRAUD it has always been.

Comment by pitbullstew - November 23, 2009 @ 07:19 PM
Comment by Pimp Jason - November 29, 2009 @ 08:58 AM

Question #3 is something that I have been thinking about a great deal myself. It will be interesting to see what happens in regards to the domain names which are currently parked that Halvarez a.k.a Nelson Brady has registered.

I would love some video coverage of the trial once it proceeds forward. Transparency is the key in this situation.

Comment by Brad Pit - December 17, 2009 @ 12:56 PM

I think in the case of ranked-online-casinos.com, you should pay Halvarez for preventing you from buying it .

Add Your Comment

  •  
Add to Twitter Add us to your Facebook